Gaslighting- Women are not “crazy.” by Ruth-Eloise Lewis

“It’s a whole lot easier to emotionally manipulate someone who has been conditioned by our society to accept it. We continue to burden women because they don’t refuse our burdens as easily.”

This is an incredibly interesting article about the concept of “gas-lighting”,  a mode of gendered behaviour where women are constantly put down and demeaned, labeled crazy or irrational. Whilst reading this article, I found myself relating to many of the issues the author highlighted. In past relationships especially, sly comments such as “You’re just so sensitive… and I know it’s because you care” made me feel uneasy and unhinged. Qualities such as rationality and objectiveness are deemed not only as primarily ‘masculine’ but also good and essential in order to move forward in life. Emotion is often disregarded as excessive and dangerous. I really feel that the author of this article has managed to capture this issue perfectly and I am so relieved his argument can finally be addressed and discussed.

http://thecurrentconscience.com/blog/2011/09/12/a-message-to-women-from-a-man-you-are-not-“crazy”/

 

 

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Gaslighting- Women are not “crazy.” by Ruth-Eloise Lewis

  1. Argus says:

    Whups — I only got partway through the ref’d article before realising I have better things to do with my day. Some of his arguments are valid, the rest designed to be emotively appealing to a target audience; and good luck to him (his style obviously nets more readers than mine, so it works).

    I stand as an individual and treat all people as individuals. Until I know them I consider them as worthy of respect as myself. I judge by what they do, only partly by what they say, and not at all what they wear, who they know, where they are, or how they choose to worship (so long as no-one/thing gets hurt). I detest collectivism in human thought; and sexism is collectivism at its most basic.

    • Argus says:

      So I snuck back and finished the article, and found that ‘he’ is a ‘she’ … well now. Try this bit, I quote:

      “When I told her that I write mainly about women, she immediately laughed and asked, “Oh, about how crazy we are?”
      Her gut reaction to my work made me really depressed … ”

      I’d have taken that as common ground, a truly penetrating comment laced with humour from an intelligent person. To each his/her own …

Leave a Reply

